Departmental addresses:

Department of Zoology
Zoology Research & Administration Building
11a Mansfield Road
Oxford OX1 3SZ
Tel: 01865 (2) 71234 

John Krebs Field Station
Tel: 01865 (2) 71178

Tel: 01865 (6) 11100

Peter Medawar Building for Pathogen Research 
Tel: 01865 (2) 81231

For external supplier payment and invoicing queries, please


The Department of Zoology at the University of Oxford traces its origins to 1860, when George Rolleston became the first Linacre Professor. This coincided with the opening of the University Museum, where zoological research and teaching was then based. Rolleston had responsibility for the zoological collections at the Museum, other than the entomology collections. There have been ten subsequent holders of the Linacre Chair since Rolleston, the current being Professor Peter Holland FRS.

As the Department expanded and diversified, additional Established Chairs were created:

  • Hope Professorship - held by Geraldine Wright
  • Professorship of Zoology - held by Tim Coulson
  • Luc Hoffmann Chair of Field Ornithology - held by Ben Sheldon
  • Tasso Leventis Chair of Biodiversity - held by E.J. Milner-Gulland

Professor E.J. Milner-Gulland is the current Head of Department, and can be contacted on We are dedicated to gender equality and in 2010 Zoology was the first department in Oxford to be given an Athena Swan Silver Award in recognition of its success at promoting the careers of women.