The Department

A History of the Department

The Department of Zoology at the University of Oxford traces its origins to 1860, when George Rolleston became the first Linacre Professor. This coincided with the opening of the University Museum, where zoological research and teaching was then based. Rolleston had responsibility for the zoological collections at the Museum, other than the entomology collections. There have been ten subsequent holders of the Linacre Chair since Rolleston, the current being Professor Peter Holland FRS. As the Department expanded and diversified, additional Established Chairs were created: the Hope Professorship (currently held by Charles Godfray CBE FRS), the Professorship of Zoology (held by Paul Harvey CBE FRS), the Luc Hoffmann Chair of Field Ornithology (held by Ben Sheldon) and the Tasso Leventis Chair of Biodiversity (held by Kathy Willis). Professor Peter Holland is the current Head of Department.


Athena Swan

Since 2010, the Department of Zoology has held an Athena Swan Silver Award, in recognition of its good employment practise for women. It is the first department in Oxford to receive this award.

Staff Vacancies

Information for those visiting or working in the Department